Allow Me To Introduce Myself…

FEMINISM

Hello, my name is Justine.

I’m the woman behind MFB.

Seeing as I’m coming up on almost 50* posts by now, and some of you are actually reading this, I thought it a good time to tell you a little bit about myself.

I’m the youngest of three children, with an older brother and an older sister.

My brother and sister both have dirty blonde hair (at least naturally they do), green eyes, sun-kissed light skin, and they’re both tall. I’m five feet tall with brown eyes and dark brown hair (at least naturally, it is) and I have olivey-tan skin. I’m adopted. Yet I somehow look more like our mom than they do.

I used to sing and play guitar in coffee shops. (Yes, it was the 90s)

I grew up in Venice, CA. (Think: beaches, skateboarding, drive-by shootings!)

I used to work with animals. Then I worked in fashion. Then even later, I traded in my Gucci and Prada for t-shirts and jeans in order to work at a grocery store while in college. Giving up that fabulously fashion-forward job to go back to school full-time was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. And I had just left my boyfriend of 5 1/2 years right before doing it (yes— leaving him was easier than leaving the job).

I left home at 17, but only became a serious college student at 22, just shy of my 23rd birthday. I mean, come on—living on my own, and in a different state at 17 years old….? For me, being a responsible and independent SEVENTEEN year old college student was riddled with contradictions.

Once I did become serious about obtaining my B.A., however, I was an English major for the first three years  until I got to UC Berkeley…where I felt like the universe had opened up a Pandora’s box of all the world’s knowledge from which I could pick and choose what I wanted to learn. Who could pick just one “major” from all this worldly knowledge…? So I went with the department that let me make up my own. I majored in Gender Politics (under the auspices of the American Studies Department) and ended up studying how and where law and gender intersect. I spent over a year researching and writing my thesis, which was on the socio-politics of childbirth. If you’re curious, you can read an excerpt here.

I became so enamored with reproductive law and feminist jurisprudence that I actually went on to law school in order to pursue a career as a legal advisor in the field of ARTs (Assisted Reproductive Technologies), as well as possibly practicing midwifery law (midwives need good lawyers dammit). Unfortunately, as I came to learn, law school is a soul-sucking experience and as much as I loved studying the law, I knew a life in law was not the life for me. But I continue to study it in my own way, writing about that which I am passionate about here, and I do still enjoy at least attempting to apply legal reasoning to my everyday life.

When I first started college I was a musical theatre major.

Music will always and forever be my first love. I still own two guitars from when I was 15 and 21, and still listen to a lot of the same music I listened to at age 13, 15, and 20…which seems weird to me now because that seems so long ago. I have also had the #1 most favorite song in the world for the last 20+ years. I listen to so much music, and so many different kinds, I like to think that I am some kind of idiot savant when it comes to the music round at pub quiz, but if I were really that good at identifying so many songs and musicians, my team and I would probably win more.

The end.

 

*This article has been revised as of 1/13/2014. When first published I was only at approximately 20 posts.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

